The Month of May – Preoccupations

The past couple of weeks have been quite something for a couple of reasons which I will get into shortly.

First of all, Happy end of the month. I have never actually said that over here. I hope that you had a great month. To all the Star Wars fans I believe this was a significant month for you. I hope that May the 4th was had (yes I had to do that).

Like I said my month was quite something for two reasons namely; Daniel Thrasher and Charlie Puth.

I accidentally stumbled upon Daniel Thrasher -a YouTube recommendation I presume- and my downward spiral down the YouTube shorts began. If you ask me, it should be called YouTube shots considering how addictive they can be. He reminds me greatly of the days of, ‘Charlie is so cool like.’ Rest-in-Peace the internet of the early 2000s. You were great to us; you did not care for filters and clean aesthetics. All you wanted from us were funny videos and endless stickman karate clips.

Apparently, Daniel has a ukulele like Charlie did though I am yet to see it. I have spent an imponderable amount of time binging on his content. It has been a struggle to detox.

On the other hand, we have Charlie Puth. Charlie. Charlie. Charlie.

Charlie and I had met before this month of May. Let me put that out there so that I do not sound too out of touch. We met when we sang something about not talking to someone as much as he used to. He felt like he wasted his time with the person but I think a good song came out of it so it is a plus all around. He was at the back of my mind and not on my current song list.

I reconnected with Charlie through a song parody – courtesy of YouTube shots – that left the hum of a song I faintly remembered, stuck in my mind. Do you know how irritating it is to have a song whose tune you do not remember play in your mind on repeat? I knew nothing about the song; not the name of the artist or any part of the song; the chorus, bridge or actual words in the song. I barely had a grasp of the tune. And at some point, the only evidence the song existed was my memory which I began to second guess.

But the gnawing of the song on my mind pushed me to search the internet and by sheer luck the song could finally be named. And it was my first time to listen to the song since my memory was based of bits and pieces of the song.

Charlie Puth and Daniel (we are on first name basis now; Daniel and I), happen to have the same hair do, so I will blame their influence over me to their hair.

Apparently, I happen to watch content according to the hairdo of the content creators. I did not know this until this very minute.

Before these two messy/curly brown-haired gentlemen in my life, the other content creators had jet black hair; other than Harry Murrell.

And because addiction loves company here is the song by Charlie Puth and a random video from Daniel aka the hoodie guy.

PS: This is for all the morning people out there.

Leave a comment